A Place to Bury Strangers’ Oliver Ackermann talks about his favorite 2021 albums

Brooklyn A place to bury strangers out of their pandemic cocoon with a new trio formation and a new EP, Hologram, which was their first release for the band’s own label, Dedstrange. They follow that with See through you, their first album in four years which will be released on February 4th. You can watch the video for the new single “Hold on Tight” below.

We checked in with APTBS frontman Oliver Ackermann to see what he was listening to in 2021 and he was kind enough to send us a list of his top 10 albums of the year, with his thoughts on each. Check out his list below.

You can see A Place to Bury Strangers on tour in 2022, including dates with Glove and TV Priest. They will end their North American dates in Brooklyn at Williamsburg Music Hall on March 4 with Native Sun and GIFT (tickets). All dates are listed below.

A PLACE TO BURY FOREIGNERS ‘OLIVER ACKERMANN – TOP 10 ALBUMS OF 2021

Buck Gooter – Head in a bird cage
This record is amazing, sad, powerful, insightful, and truly unlike anything I’m sure is going to be released this year or anytime in the future. This is the last album of the strange duo Buck Gooter and it is because one of the 2 main members of this group has passed away. The group continues as Billy and the ghost and soul appearances of the late Terry Turtle, 2 of the best rock and rollers to ever graced this land.

Alien Nezjob – Paint it clear
Really cool record with a cool vibe. Old school and real.

Black dice – Mod Prog Sic
Still some of the most interesting sound monsters coming out of the speakers. Not so pretentiously weird, just weird and delicious.

Twisted squares – Graph for solution
This album is so good. My mate Nick drew me to this band and I’m so glad he did. Amazing album.

Deer hoof – In fact, you can
Super excited when this record came out. It’s really everything I’ve ever loved about Deerhoof in one delicious, fun doobie. Fun pony rides are a must during these times.

SLOW MOTION – Crawling
Damn, these boyz keep crushing her in new and interesting ways. Crawler becomes all spaced out and psychedelic and aggressive as hell while shoving a beautiful and insightful message down your throat. All aces all the time.

Xiu Xiu – OH NO
OH NO is an epic anti-compilation experimental playlist of the most epic collaborations I’ve ever heard. Xiu Xiu always intervenes in something that no one would dare to do and does it with absolute excellence.

Supersonic detonation – Almost nothing is almost enough
This is a remix of songs from All things being equal and it’s a beautiful musical journey from the first note. Classic as I like and yet something completely new.

The KVB – Unity
When I want a badass futuristic soundscape to motivate me, I drop this record.

Synthetic Silver – Synthetic Silver
Damn, this is such a good feel-good record. It just makes me want to drive and drive and drive.

A Place To Bury Strangers – Tour Dates 2022
Mon Jan 31 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd #
Tue Feb 1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #
Wed February 2 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz #
Fri Feb 4 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace #
Sat Feb 5 – Detroit, MI @ El Club #
Sun. February 6 – Chicago, IL @ empty bottle
Mon Feb 7 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club #
Tue Feb 8 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave. 7th Street Entry #
Fri Feb 11 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos%
Sat Feb 12 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios%
Sun. February 13 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theater%
Tue Feb 15 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel%
Wed, Feb 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom%
Fri Feb 18 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar%
Sat February 19 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress%
Tue Feb 22 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge%
Wed Feb 23 – Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck%
Fri Feb 25 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt%
Sat February 26 – Atlanta, GA @ 529%
Sun. February 27 – Chapel Hill, ND @ Cat’s Cradle
Fri March 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg!
Wed Mar 9 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang &
Thu March 10 – Dresden, DE @ Beatpol &
Fri March 11 – Warsaw, PL @ Klub Poglos &
Sat March 12 – Prague, CZ @ Futurum &
Sun. March 13 – Bratislava, SK @ Randal Club &
Mon March 14 – Budapest, HU @ Durer Kert &
Wed March 16 – Bucharest, RO @ Control Club ^
Thu March 17 – Sofia, BG @ Mixtape5 ^
Fri March 18 – Thessaloniki, GR @ Eightball ^
Sat March 19 – Athens, GR @ Temple ^
Mon Mar 21 – Skopje, MK @ May 25 Hall ^
Tue. March 22 – Belgrade, RS @ Club Drugstore ^
Thu March 24 – Zagreb, RH @ Mochvara ^
Fri March 25 – Bologna, IT @ Freakout Club ^
Sat March 26 – Rome, IT @ Largo ^
Sun. March 27 – Milan, IT @ Legend Club ^
Tue March 29 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F ^
Wed March 30 – Munich, DE @ Backstage ^
Thu. March 31 – Martigny, CH @ Caves Du Mémoire
Fri April 1 – Paris, FR @ La Trabendo *
Sat April 2 – London, UK @ Lafayette *
Mon April 4 – Antwerp, BE @ Kavka *
Tue April 5 – Munster, DE @ Gleis 22 *
Wed April 6 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Melkweg *
Thu April 7 – Groningen, Netherlands @ Vera *
Sat April 9 – Stockholm, SE @ Hus 7 *
Sun. April 10 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee *
Mon April 11 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset *
Tue April 12 – Berlin, DE @ Hole 44 *
Wed April 13 – Cologne, DE @ MTC *

# with Glove
% with TV Priest
& with Jealous
^ with Plattenbau
* with madness
! with Native Sun, GIFT

Comments are closed.